John 3:30


He must become greater, I must become less.  This is a verse I stumbled upon a few weeks ago when I was trying to figure out how to be stronger in my faith and how to stop thinking about all the what if’s and silly worries.  I have anxiety like many people in the world today.  I wish I didn’t and I wish I didn’t take medication but I do, so I’ve accepted that and I am trying to learn from that.  In an attempt to try to get some verses to take my mind off of stupid silly worries, I grabbed a stack of notecards and my Bible and went through and looked at verses on anxiety and worrying and this verse is one of the ones I picked to concentrate on.  Some nights and days my mind just wanders, I make lists and I just worry and it’s not productive, it steals alot of time from my life and it’s frustrating and I want so badly to stop.  So I am going to pray and put my mind on my verses to take me from my worries.  It has been working amazingly and I am blessed. 

I’ve noticed that I need to focus on God in my prayers and ask Him for guidance and to lead me and to show me where I am needed and what I should be doing.  Like most moms, it’s hard for me to think that caring for my kids and my husband and taking care of my home is helpful, to me it’s just what I am supposed to do.  But the Proverbs 31 woman takes her duties as more than work, it’s a blessing, so I am trying to see that in my daily life.  I also think that I should be helping more, volunteering, offering more time, but I have a baby and a toddler and there isn’t always time, so I am trusting that this is where God wants me and He will use me and guide me, where I need to be.  So I need to take me out of it and focus on Him with praise and gratitude and I will continue to grow on my faith journey and lose this nagging anxiety.

About this entry