Proverbs 3


Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not rely on your own insight; in all your ways submit to Him and He will make your paths straight.  Proverbs 3: 5-6

I’ve been reading books by Beverly Lewis, fictional accounts about life among the Amish.  The series I am on now is set in the late 40’s.  I find myself drawn into these books because even as the characters are complex and the situations interesting, it is still a life much more simple than mine.  My mother in law sent me a box of books for my birthday and I’m also reading one set in Ireland in the 40’s.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love my technology.  I love the conveniences we have and the internet and blogging.  I just don’t love how it seems like there is always something to do or something to be taking my time.  I’ve drastically cut down on my tv viewing and try to curb my social networking to the mornings only. Otherwise I will never stop being distracted.  I love to read always have.  So I am trying to do more of that and spending time with my children and also trying to be creative. 

Each morning and each night I end with prayers and Bible studies and devotions.  I am trying to be a good Christian and to raise my kids to also be strong and faithful followers of the Lord.  Someday’s I still feel so overwhelmed.  I usually don’t fall asleep until the middle of the night, then I am dragging the next day.  I have a group of friends who I adore and I love spending time with, but they don’t attend church regularly and I think they think I am kind of odd, to be raising my kids and taking them to church.  I even had an argument a few months ago with my closest friend, since she thought I was at church too much.  I have found such a contentment and a happiness on this journey, but at the same time when I am with my friends or at my job, it’s hard because then I might not be thinking before I speak or I might be gossiping.  It’s hard because I want a simplier life following God and being faithful and I still love my friends dearly and want to be with them also.  It’s so hard.  So to me this verse is telling me to be an example.  Be the salt and the light, so others can see the happiness and the change and know where it comes from.  Maybe I should think of this verse also:

Old things have passed away behold all things have become new…..

About this entry