Psalm 46


Be still and know that I am God.  I love this verse.  I am constantly going, something to do, something to plan, something to think about, something to worry about from when I get up (after my morning devotions) until I go to bed and lately I’ve been having trouble sleeping because I am still thinking.  This year I was at my church’s 24 hour prayer vigil and feeling kind of jumbled, too much thinking, I couldn’t concentrate in order to pray, so I decided to open the Bible and guess what Psalm was there?  Another time it was the middle of the night and this is what was whispered into my mind and then I peacefully fell back to sleep.  On my birthday we were at a Smorgasbord with a nice gift shop with a faith gift section and I chose to by a magnet with this verse on it.  Now when I go to the kitchen it is there for me to see and I stop and think about it.  Sometimes I will say a little prayer.  The other night, I was tossing and turning and this verse came again.  I was thinking okay, I get it, I need to be still, to quiet my mind, but I can’t, there’s too much going on.  But this time, I paid special attention to the remainder of the verse … and know that I am God.  There it was.  I’m not in control, He is.  I don’t need to worry, He will take care of me.  It’s amazing how you see a verse for so long and then it just jumps out and speaks to you in a whole new meaning.  Trying to stop worrying and relinquish control is the hardest thing I can do, and I really do struggle with it.  That is my biggest hurdle and the one I ask for the most help with.

About this entry