Real Housewives another thought


So on the real housewives they all fight with each other all the time and full blown crazy fights.  In my life I don’t fight with my friends, we might disagree from time to time but there is never on the street grabbing at each others hair kind of fighting.  Real moms have too many other things to do and want to set a good example for their kids, so they don’t act like that.

I’ve been thinking a lot about being a mom.  Recently, since my baby is now a toddler, I’ve been thinking about finishing my Masters or going into a new career when the kids are both in school.  I can’t imagine myself just putting around all day without the kids here at home.  I have always been one to be planning my next steps, my next move.  I keep thinking well when the kids are in school, should I go back into finance, should I get a Master’s in Social Work, should be volunteering at a few different places, etc- thoughts all the time. 

I do so much each day now.  I’m with the kids, I drive my oldest to school and sports and clubs and activities.  I clean and cook and help my grandparents.  I volunteer at church.  I play with my baby, I mean each day is exhausting and I am beat by the time I hit my bed.  But in the back of my mind I still feel like I am not accomplishing. I am not solving an office problem or using my office skills or anything I learned in college.  It’s that feeling that plagues many people who make the switch from career person to parent who stays at home.  You feel like to the outside world you aren’t doing enough.

Then one day I just came to the realization that right now, my job and my focus is mom.  I am a mom.  I am here with my children making memories.  I work very hard managing my home and helping others.  I use some of my finance skills for the family budgets.  I use balancing and planning skills each day.  I use time management.  I love waking up and seeing my kids.  I love watching them play.  I love that they can be at home and feel all cozy like I did, growing up when I stayed with my grandmother during the days, while my parents worked. There is nothing wrong with being satisfied with my mom life.  There is not a need to constantly being trying to do more or achieve more.  I will never again have this moments with my children.  They grow so fast.  I love being at home.  I love trying to make new foods or making crafts with the kids.  I love going to the park and looking at nature.  I love being relaxed because I am not tied to a job that I bring home each night.  It’s just upsetting that it took almost 5 years for me to come to terms with this. 

I had such a peace when I realized this is where I am supposed to be and this is what I am supposed to be doing.  Being a mom is something I never planned on, when I was younger and climbing the corporate ladder, but those times have prepared me and shaped me for where I am today.  Who knows what I will do when my kids are in school, but right now I am going to enjoy the blessing I have of watching them grow and being with them each day.

About this entry