Proverbs 31 Woman


Proverbs 31:17, “She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.”

So I was trying to think about a verse that really connected to my life today.  I don’t do a real spring cleaning.  I try to do massive cleaning all year round depending on the season.  For some reason my main cleaning falls in autumn, so for two days I have been washing all the curtains, comforters, pillows, sheets, towels- regular laundry plus some.  My arms and back were really achey this morning when I woke up because I had a meeting last night and then came home and did laundry until midnight!!  But there is something that feels good about being able to really clean.  It reminds me of the cleaning my grandmother used to do.  Real deep housecleaning.  She had the cleanest house I have ever seen.  It reminds me of my deep German roots and work ethic, but it also brings to mind all I have been blessed with.  The items to be cleaning and the washer and dryer, the family to care for and the family I came from.  Today has been an incredibly busy day, with many other things I had to take care of besides cleaning and I’ve been able to do it.  God knows I am so in need of always being busy, because when I’m not, I get bored and when I’m bored my mind wanders and I start to worry.  I am trying very hard to get past my worry habit.  I also am trying hard to stay on my faith path and to not worry about people judging me.  It’s very hard to be living with the values and traditions I grew up with in a world that demands so much more.  So today I read this verse and it spoke to me.  There is nothing wrong with enjoying hard housework and for feeling blessed to be doing it.

About this entry