Phillipians 4: 11-12


I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation. 

If you would have asked me what contentment was five years ago I would have given you a blank stare.  All my life I’ve been hearing you are never content, why can’t you be content?  For a small child who has no idea what that means, it really laid the ground work for me trying to be content as I got older and feeling set up for failure since I was never content for too long.  But what kid is? 

Less than ten years ago my life was extremely different.  I was climbing the corporate ladder, working non-stop and enjoying the gifts that come with hard work and good pay.  My husband and I had a very comfortable life and yet there was always something missing.  I was always looking for the next thing- a new career, volunteering, crafts, languages, travel.  I could have easily been content and yet I still was not content.  Fast forward several years we were back in America and were starting a family.  I would be leaving my career in less than two years and taking the drastically different mommy path.  Now we did not have as many things and luxuries and it was hard to keep up with friends and not feel resentful, but I was at home with my child and it was nice.  Shortly after my first born was baptised I started going back to church and really enjoyed watching my faith grow.  Over the course of several years I started to get more involved- helping, volunteering and now teaching children in Sunday Church School.  God has shown me something I never expected to see in my life.  My faith is what leads me, it is what keeps me content.  I know life is about trials and good times mixed together and I can handle that because I am content in my faith and the love God has for me.  He has blessed me and I now know contentment was never about having something to do, or something to own or a job title, it was always there in my heart and my spirit.  It was living my life by faith and knowing I could be content in any situation because of the love of God.

About this entry