Ephesians 4:29


Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. 

This is such a strong verse for parents.  How often do you critize or complain in front of your kids?  They watch and listen to everything you do so it is important to always be positive.  Even saying something nice or helping someone out is an act that shows your children that you have the light of God and it is shining.  I love to encourage people.  A nice compliment, a friendly smile, telling a child that something they worked hard on looks nice- simple things you can do that can mean the world to people. 

We can all make a difference in the lives of each other by being nice.  This time of year , but all year long think about how you can help a neighbor, your community, your church, your friends, your kids, your husband, even your pet. 

I try to build up my kids, even if we are doing something and they aren’t quite getting the hang of it or if they are trying to help and creating more work, instead of dismissing it or complaining, I say something positive and the smiles on their faces are amazing. 

I am not always the friendlist person.  Things happen.  Your day feels ruined at the start, you spilled something on your clean shirt, the cleaning and the laundry never end, but now I try to think about how other people will react to me being negative and I change my attitude.  Try to remember Ephesians 4:29 this holiday season when you are out and about.  Give your fellow man the best give- kindness.

About this entry