Deuteronomy 15:10


Deuteronomy 15:10, “Give generously to the poor, not grudgingly, for the Lord your God will bless you in everything you do.”

So it’s the time of year when we are rushing to and fro buying gifts or sitting online and doing so!!  We are buying things just to buy, not really thinking of the meaning.  I am as guilty as the next person when it comes to this.  This year we are trying something a little different, I made ornaments for my closest friends and family and choc pretzel bark as gifts to family and friends at my husbands job and it is true- people love homemade gifts. I used to be so excited to give and donate at church for the collections we do at Christmas, but this year, I felt like I was just doing it, not wanting to do it, or thinking about how it will be blessing others.  When I donate things I like to pray on them, that whoever recieves the item, will be blessed and happy and this time of year if it’s clothes, will stay warm. 

The salvation army has had their bell ringers for a few weeks now and it is amazing how many people just walk by.  They don’t realize all the meals, and food, and clothes and fellowship and disaster services they provide in our area and all over the world.  There are volunteers sitting out in the cold ringing bells, because they feel called to do so and people walk by and don’t even give anything.  It makes me sad.  Last night my women’s financial club met to have our December meeting.  Every year we give a donation to a women and children’s shelter but this year because of the economy we also collected for the salvation army and I was amazed at how much food and clothes people brought to donate.  I am so excited to be the one, to pray over these extras and to drop them off.  I wish I could say that in my day to day life, I can always stop and appreciate the holidays and how God encourages us to give to others, but too many times, it becomes just another task on my never ending list of Christmas.  This year I am trying to make sure I remember the true meaning of Christmas and Advent and talk to my children about it, because the greatest gift we can give is from our heart- blessing strangers, the poor or giving something home made to an old friend.  Peace.

About this entry