Contenment and Esteem


So last night, I was just so set on losing weight.  I decided ok so I’m a wife and mom, I don’t need to look like one.  I can dress nice and have nice hair and be a reasonable size that I am comfortable.  Way back in the day I was a fashionable person.  I loved clothes and fashion magazines in high school and junior high.  I loved making outfits and borrowing clothes from friends to make different looks.  I liked playing around with hairstyles and colors.  But last night I really felt frumpy.  I just felt like I don’t try and not because I don’t want to, because I don’t have time.  With the kids, it’s hard to take time to get myself ready.  And that makes me always wish I looked different, weighed less, dressed different. 

I started out last Monday feeling downright awful.  Didn’t want to get out of bed.  Tuesday I went skiing and I felt awesome.  I felt alive.  I had more energy.  Exercise really does make you feel better and less down.  I feel like I want to eat less processed food and we really are since my husband is on a diet.  I am still not really able to let go of oreos, but I need to treat them as what they are- a treat, not an every day food.  I read something and I started to think of my decisions of eating bad food.  I think oh this won’t hurt me, but in the long run it all adds up.  And that leads to diseases you can prevent by eating healthy. 

By this point in my awareness to being content, I’m starting to realize what I can change and what could work/make me happier and more content, based on healthy living, but I need to get from thinking and finding to making changes and working towards it. 

Health is the greatest possession. Contentment is the greatest treasure. Confidence is the greatest friend. Non-being is the greatest joy. Lao Tzu

About this entry