Matthew 7:12


[Jesus said,] “In everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.”

How true this is.  I try to start my day thinking about doing and treating others as I would like to be treated.  Sometimes it’s easy but sometimes when I am hurt by someone or jealous it is very hard.  I always think about how in the Great Gatsby Nick is talking about how his father told him to not judge people until he’s lived in their shoes (not the exact quote), but I like that.  We all have seen how life can change in the blink of an eye.  I don’t ever want to go through life thinking I am bigger than or better than or less than someone else.  We all deserve love, compassion and respect.

This also comes up in parenting.  Sometimes as a parent I say, just because I said so.  But that’s not really fair.  I think children learn by being part of stuff and they learn by explanations so I try to be as fair as possible even when I’m very busy.  Because I want my children to go out into the world and love their neighbor and have a true genuine heart for helping others.  I have never had such love in my heart as when I am helping others or doing something for someone else.  It’s amazing how great that feels.

About this entry