Journey Towards Contentment, Am I there yet?


So this week when I was thinking about my year long contentment plan and ideas, I was thinking to myself, am I journeying towards contentment?  Am I taking my discoveries to heart in order to learn and to grow?  So much of my life is rush, rush, rush and never stopping to take a moment.  So if that’s all that I keep doing I’m not taking this contentment plan to heart.  So since in March I am trying to focus on self, status, debt and the media influences I decided to make a list of things I want to work/focus on in order to feel more content:

-my weight.  I want to eat healthier, exercise more and maybe lose 20 pounds. To be healthier but also because I feel better about myself when I’m a little less large 🙂

-to look nicer, to try to do my hair and makeup and dress nicer.  Most days I wear mom gear- sweats, tees, combed hair, no makeup.  I think I’d feel better if I took some time for myself

-to be more patient with my kids

-to play more with my kids and to read more to them

-to write more

-to be green (er), the kids and I are doing container gardens and focusing more on being a greener family

-to get rid of debt/stick to my plan like glue, so we can be debt free and never go there again

-to save more/spend less/be a good steward of the blessings we have

-not always buy new/never pay full price

-not worry and stress so much

-appreciate what I have and not worry about keeping up with others

Most of these things involve my view of myself and the world around me, but if I don’t feel confident then I won’t be finding contentment.

I love this quote from Madea of the Madea movies:

“Honey, people are going to talk about you your whole life. It’s not what they call you, its what you answer to.” 

Simple yet smart words.

About this entry