Simplify


I think if you take a step back and remove yourself from the need and the want and the keeping up and just simplify life is good and contentment is handled.  We talked about contentment this week in my women’s group and it was interesting to see different people talk about different levels of contentment. 

I try to live by constantly getting rid of what we don’t use or need. I am also starting to not buy things that will end up in that category- such as junky little toys, just to buy toys when we are out and the kids are whining for something, or clothes that are trendy and won’t last for a few seasons.  I want to be frugal.  I want to live like my grandparents generation or Europeans.  There is not a need for me to have so much clothes and stuff and so much for my kids.  I’ve had to pack and move to another country twice and I was so used to not having a lot, plus in Bermuda there is no storage and if you do have storage room it has to be climate controlled all the time, otherwise things get moldy, so I learned to have what we needed and that was it.  Then I came back and had kids and realized once I owned my own home I wanted some history- family items to place around that reminded me of being younger or my grandparents house, so I started collecting and my grandparents started giving.  Then the kids starting getting stuff-toys and clothes.  And once you have kids you also start collecting holiday decorations and before you know it you have a lot of stuff.  I have many friends with packed attics and rental storage units.  So in order to be more simplified in my life and in order to be a better steward of the Earth, I am trying to be really simple.  Less is more and simplyfying and making a point to do so, has done a lot over this past month in my quest for contentment. 

We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
 Frederick Keonig
About this entry