Redefine who you are


“Never let your past dictate who you are, but let it be a part of who you will become.” ~ Johnny Magaña

So I saw this quote and I liked it.  I posted it on my facebook and one of my friends commented about also re-inventing yourself.  And it made me think.  There is so much of you that is formed from your past.  When you are a teenager you think I am never going to be like my mother,father, grandmother, etc.  Then you grow older and you realize no matter where you’ve been or who you are today it’s because all those people added to you being you.  You start to think your family’s habits or sayings might not be so bad, but might make you feel even closer to home and to them. 

But I also can see where you want to be someone different, to be you.  It’s funny you can sometimes see how your kids are different to their friends and at school then at home, like us at work versus home.  I always find myself resorting to my 15 year old self when I am “back home”  even when I was a twenty something career woman living in another country.  Family has a way of doing that.  Sometimes I think if I could slightly change my way or work a little more towards something for me instead of what I think people want me to be, I might be more content.  But maybe that’s part of who we are.  Any thoughts?

About this entry