Proverbs 31:3


Proverbs 31:3 (New Living Translation)

3 do not waste your strength on women,
      on those who ruin kings.

Or find yourself a good wife.  One who knows how to conduct herself, how to be humble, where her priorities should be. 

When I was younger I spent way too much time concerned with boys and with going out with friends and doing the cool fun thing.  I used to go to church all the time and was a good obiedient kid, then once I was confirmed church was not so important.  When I was a senior my boyfriend was a Christian and I went back to church with him and his family. 

My dad was kind of non-existant in my life and my grandparents were a generation apart from me, so if I was making good grades and being home on time, I could pretty much go over to my best friends house and we would go to dances or just hang out and do nothing.  I wasn’t really bad, just always trying to get attention or trying to get boys to notice me. 

My husband doesn’t go to church but also is supportive of me raisingour kids in the church.  I want my kids to be those happy, centered, self confident kids I used to see at church.  I don’t want them chasing after dates and friends only to realize there is so much to life and sharing your love with you spouse, that y0u should wait for.  I want them to be young and enjoy it.  I pray daily for their future spouses.  So I can see how the Proverbs 31 mom felt about this verse.

About this entry