Proverbs 31:4


Proverbs 31:4 (New Living Translation)

 

 4 It is not for kings, O Lemuel, to guzzle wine.
      Rulers should not crave alcohol.

So this to me is one of two things.  This verse is saying that rulers , especially should not drink a lot.  They need to be composed, be examples, and be clear headed always.  That’s good advice, I mean in our modern day we wouldn’t want a drunken President or a drunken CEO, or a drunken pastor.

The other way to look at it, is we should all be advised, that leader or not, we shouldn’t drink too much.  Life was different back then as wine was consumed at more meals than it is now.  But this is good advice.  You can’t be totally drunk and still function.  My father was an alcoholic for most of my life and my mother also has a drinking problem.  When I was a child their addictions to alcohol and gambling were more powerful than raising me.  So I went to live with my grandparents.  Because of this I’ve never been a crazy drinker.  I mean I was young once and was in college, but I never went overboard.  When my children were born, I made a decision that I never wanted to smell like bar or alcohol to them.  I hated that smell, I hated wondering if my parents were okay all night long, it was not a nice way to live as a child.  So I decided my life would be different and it has.  My husband also has alcoholic parents and has agreed that we don’t want to be like our parents in that aspect to our kids.  So our kids don’t have to tiptoe around Sunday morning because mom and dad have a hangover, our kids are in Sunday School, something I never did as a child and they love it.  Time with our kids is the foremost thing for us, over social obligations. 

So this is sound advice to all, people should not guzzle alcohol, or overeat, or overspend- or any of the other vices we all so easily can fall into.

About this entry