National Day of Prayer


“The LORD is good, a refuge in times of trouble.  He cares for those who trust in Him” Nahum 1:7

Yesterday my heart was torn a small bit.  My son loves to sing and he loves the songs he learns in Sunday School and church.  He was playing at Pre-school and singing “We are marching in the light” (I don’t even know if that’s the proper name or not).  He sings when he plays because he is happy and content.  So one of his friends, the one he likes the most, who will most likely be in his kindergarten class, told him that was not a real song and my son who only knows that he’s been to church his whole 5 years on Earth said yes it is.  It must have bothered him because he told me about it when he came home.  I told him to just say that’s a song we sing in church, and my son goes but he doesn’t know it’s a church.  My son’s pre-school is in our church and non-members attend.  I was sad, because my little boy loves Jesus and knows Jesus loves him too, he is so happy and he likes to go to church and spend time there.  When his friend said this, it was what many people have to go through in this world, trying to justify our love and belief in God. 

A few months ago I was talking to his teacher from last year and she mentioned that most of the kids in her class had no idea who baby Jesus was (this was during Christmas).  How sad is that? 

It reminded me that we have this National Day of Prayer, when we pray for our nation and our leaders and our people.  And the President didn’t want to be part of that.  How sad.  In this time when we are at war and people need jobs and health care and food and we have natural disasters there is nothing wrong about prayer.  

I was struggling with how to react to my sons disappointment and I decided that him and I will just continue to shine with the light, so others can see the good works God has put in us.  We can’t always please people, we can’t change people, but we can pray for each other and that is what I will be doing in about a half hour.

About this entry