Proverbs 31:8


Proverbs 31:8 (New International Version)

 

 8 “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves,
       for the rights of all who are destitute.

 I love this verse.  There is something so humbling about being able to stand up for others, especially those who are destitute.  There is poverty all over the world.  There are people in out communities who need food and shelter and clothes and love and kindness. 

I have to admit I was naive about poverty in my area.  I don’t live in a super affluent area, but I always thought people were doing ok.  Then our church starting collecting food for our local food bank about a year ago.  Each month we drop food off to church and they share it with two local food banks.  One day the church published a note about how many families one of the banks feed a week.  I was astonished.  I never knew there was such a need in my community.  I also heard about a single mom with a few kids who had no where else to go, so she ended up at my church.  It was a day there was a lot of activity going on in the church, so the church could provide a meal for her and the kids and someone was working with her on her options.  I just felt for this person when I heard about this.  How lonely to be all alone with yor children and not have anything or anyone to turn to. How nice that she came to my church and there were people there to help her.

I also think about the elderly on fixed incomes.  I’ve always been really good with older people, probably since my grandparents raised me.  So when I read about elder abuse or people who have to choose medicine or rent or food, I get really sad.  I volunteered in the dementia unit at a retirement home before I had my 2nd child and it was sad to see people who seldom recieved visitors.  That got to me. 

I also think about animals.  Animals without a home, shelter animals, animals people can’t afford so they abanden them.  There are some many needs in our communities and the world, people sometimes don’t think about animals but they are God’s creatures too and need care and need people to speak up for them.

There are people the world over in bad situations and who need things.  But instead of getting overwhelmed about not being about to help everyone everywhere, I try to do my part in my area of the world and know that the effect will help others.  There is always a way to help people where ever you are and small things add up to big things.  If all you can do is pray, that is one of the greatest gifts you can give and it should never be overlooked.

About this entry