Proverbs 31 9-10


Proverbs 31:9-10 (New Living Translation)

 9 Yes, speak up for the poor and helpless,
      and see that they get justice.

A Wife of Noble Character

 10 [a]Who can find a virtuous and capable wife?
      She is more precious than rubies.

So the first part is ending with advice to go ahead and speak up for the poor and help those who need justice. Sound advice back then that is still good advice for us.  There are so many people in this world who suffer and in our communities that we need to be the voice and the help for so many.

Then it starts on the virtues of the Proverbs 31 woman/wife.  I love the rest of this.  Today’s verse is about a virtuous and capable wife and how her value is better than that of precious gems.  I totally agree.  I love being a wife.  I always have.  I love being a great partner to my husband.  I love talking to him and cooking him nice dinners.  I don’t love cleaning, but I do it as a sign of love for my family.  In my family the wives have been strong hard working women.  I know to some people it seems old fashioned and back when I was younger I never desired to be a housewife, but I love being able to be at home and caring for my family and home.  I think a wife need s to be industrious and capable in order to keep her family going.  There is something very romantic and perfect feeling to me to know I am at home doing something my ancestors did.  To know I don’t have to go to work and rush about and try to squeeze it all into one day.  To see my kids all day long almost and to be such a part of their lives.  To be able to look out in the garden and enjoy the view as part of my everyday life.  I love being a wife.

About this entry