Books and how there is no such things as too many


Books.  Books have been part of my life as far back as I can remember.  My mom must have taught me to read when I was very small because I could read before kindergarten and I didn’t go to pre-school.   I can remember my favorite books from childhood too, well some of them.  My parents would always buy my books and so would my grandparents.  By the time I was in elementary school we were always at the library.  It was nothing for me to read 20 or more books a week.  I read the most books in my junior high two years in a row.  I guess I should have been a librarian, but I’m not.

Books allowed me to escape my parents fighting, they allowed me to find friends and feel normal when I was living with my grandparents and no one else in school was.  They helped me through awkward teenage years.  They let my imagination run wild, taught me to love writing and connected me to people with lives like mine so I didn’t feel so odd. 

I have always been a reader.  I woke up this morning and noticed I had a few more books on my list to add to my Amazon wishlist.  Some for me and some for my kids.  In the past year I started really using my local library again for me and the kids and they love it.  They love to read.  I started to run out of space for toys and books and so we borrow from the library.  That’s not to say mom doesn’t still buy tons of books, but we give them away when the kids outgrow them, so others can enjoy reading.

It’s very sad for me to know lots of kids don’t have books and First Book is one of my favorite charities.  I was not the typical child who would have books growing up, but they meant the world to me and encouraged me to grow and reach for more.  In that I was the first person in my family to go to college and grad school. 

I don’t really think I could do an e-reader.  I love pages and holding a book.  I love sharing a good book.  If I still lived overseas and traveled a lot an e-reader would be great, in Bermuda books get moldy, e-readers probably don’t, but in my current situation I’ll keep my good old paper made friends.  One of the greatest gifts I enjoy as a parent is sharing the love of books and the love of reading.

About this entry