Dressin Up


Proverbs 31:22 (New Living Translation)

 

 22 She makes her own bedspreads.
      She dresses in fine linen and purple gowns.

Confession-  I don’t make my own bedspreads and unless you are Amish, which means you probably aren’t reading my blog, then most likely you also do not make your own bedspreads.  In all honestly I must also confess I don’t even make my own bed, or my kids beds.  I am overly organized and a big planner, I just don’t get bed making.  I never have.  Since I left home, I have not made my bed, with the rare exception people are coming over who may want to see my house.

I do sometimes wear linen.  Although it is really hard to iron, as my grandmother used to tell me when she ironed my linen clothes.  I also can’t iron.  So my current clothes are wash and wear.  I did learn that living on an island linen is super comfortable and light weight in the heat, and is not as wrinkly in 120% humidity.  I don’t wear purple gowns, I don’t really wear gowns at all, with the exception of the prom, my husbands class reunion and the 2 weddings I’ve been in. 

But I think in my mind this verse means to me take care of yourself girl.  Make yourself look presentable and keep your house looking nice.  Everything we have is a gift from God and we are meant to be his stewards and take care of it.  After both of my children I went through a period of a year or a year in a half of a pony tail, sweat pants, tee shirt and sneakers.  No jewelry, no nothing.  This was my uniform.  Finally both times I realized I don’t have to be a fashion model to be running my mom errands and taking care of my family and my house, but I also don’t have to look like I just got out of bed after having the flu for a week.  Since I try to take some time to look nice and eat well and keep things tidy, I feel better.  Proverbs 31 woman was onto something.  Somedays it’s harder than others, but you can never go wrong with making yourself feel better, that’s how you can take care of others in a joyful manner, even on the bad days.

About this entry