Laugh and Strength-looking up to God


Proverbs 31:25 (New International Version)

 

 25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
       she can laugh at the days to come.

 I think I am a strong person.  I come from a long line of strong German women, raised to stand strong and not get emotional.  I know not the best, but sometimes that’s what gets you through something strength and prayer.

The hardest time in my life to date was when I developed pre-eclampsia and HELLP syndrome and had a pre-mature baby.  I was sick, very sick.  The baby was small and fragile and fighting her own battle.  We both got better, but as anyone who goes through any crisis, the battle is never over when you leave the hospital. 

I relied on my faith to get me through, I relied on my family and friends and prayers.  I questioned why me.  I wondered if I would ever be the same.  I wondered if my husband and I would crack under the stress.  But as they say God never promised to make life easy He just promises to be with you through it all and he was.  I needed His strength to get through that. 

Dignity.  Dignity to me is treating people as people, not as what you see before you.  I’ve always been really good with the elderly.  I never done talk them, I just treat them as I would a friend or a grandparent.  I think in our society we tend to just assume you are old or you are young, you are not where I am in life so I’m not comfortable with you, I don’t know what to talk about, but that’s not how people want to be treated.  Everyone just wants respect and dignity. My grandmother has been crippled my whole life, from polio.  Another thing to be aware of, no want wants to be treated “special” people just want  to feel comfortable.  I try very hard to get my kids to treat others as they would want to be treated. And to be friends with all children, whether they have something in common or not.

My favorite part of this verse is that she can laugh at the days to come.  Oh if it wasn’t for laughter.  A strong woman knows she’ll get thru it with her head held high, and her strength from God, so she knows she can laugh.  She knows she can relax because there is nothing she can’t handle without the Lord. 

Looking up the theme for this months National Blog Posting Month http://www.nablopomo.com/

About this entry