Contentment or zoning out this week


I went on vacation this week to the beach.  I got really burnt even though I used sunscreen.  I sat on the beach and watched my kids play.  I slept late one day and had about an hour of quiet to myself.  I tried to read.  I tried to think.  I tried to dream.  But in reality most of what I did was flip through magazines, play a crazy game of Apples to Apples with our friends, play with the kids and zone out on really cheesy MTV and comedy central shows- things I would not normally watch.

I thought oh a vacation, great I can clear my mind and maybe gain some insight into myself and who I want to be and where I want to go.  Instead I had fun and relaxed and felt slightly guilty that I couldn’t be more mentally productive.  I really thought I could sketch some ideas for a book I was thinking about.  Maybe that’s what vacation is, maybe just zoning and not being me was what I needed to be content last week.  Maybe if I could see and hear the ocean every day life would be simpler.

About this entry