Mama needs a refresh button


I know there are other moms out there for whom the five o’clock hour is one of the most dreaded of the day.  The kids are tired and hungry, your husband is almost home, but could be running late, you need to make dinner, or run to lessons, or go to a meeting and you just don’t have energy.  Nothing.  You know if you laid your head on a pillow that would be it, you would be fast asleep in no time. 

I actually have days when I stand at the door for about 10 minutes waiting for my husband to park outside.  I am so desperate for a break or 10 seconds or so to get some dinner ready or to go and have five minutes of peace and quiet. 

This wouldn’t be such a big deal if we could eat dinner and then relax.  But most nights there are plants to water, laundry to do, meals to clean up, kids to clean up, meetings to attend, learning to work on, and countless other items. So when it comes to journaling or scrapbooking or anything slightly creative, my creative juices don’t flow.  They aren’t there.  Most of the time reading a book or magazine isn’t even there.  I sometimes will zone and tweet if I have some time to spare and don’t want to go to bed just yet. 

I see my older child being more independent and doing things on his own and entertaining himself and I know my youngest will get there too, but in the meantime all of my energy is depleted and I miss stuff, I miss doing things for myself.  I miss when the five o’clock hour meant the end of the day and time to relax and maybe have dinner with friends.

Check out steadymom’s 30 min. blog challenge:

http://www.steadymom.com/moms-30minute-blog-challenge.html

About this entry