Super Savers


Wow, so I just read another article on these so called super savers, you know the people who manage to bank 50% of their salaries and pay for their houses in cash, all while being paid something like $70,000 a year for a family of 6. Like those people who live life without buying anything new and pass away and give 10 million to a college.  I mean how is that done?  I sometimes feel so stupid.  My husband has a degree in finance and I minored in business and while he still works in finance I did for about 10 years, so how can it be that I can’t manage to pay off debt or save any money?

Let me just state that I left work to be with my kids.  Prior to that we had a normal life not a lot of debt.  But we were never going to pay cash for a car or house.  Now I know there are all sorts of charts and ways to plan before you do this, switch to be a one career family and I guess I missed that boat.  I just can’t imagine if we had two incomes being able to save one.

I’m moderately frugal, but I also like to buy things, who doesn’t?  I have cable and we go out to eat, so there are plenty of ways we could cut back more, but I also don’t want to have to live constantly worrying.

I guess what really bothers me is that I just can’t see a way out.  I keep spending and I know I shouldn’t.  Recently I’ve noticed some great larger homes while I am driving and I find myself daydreaming about what it would be like to live in one and decorate one.  I look at cars and wish mine had a/c and a little more shine.  I wish I had some great windows, big picture windows.  I wish I could buy better clothes for myself and not just the kids.  I wish I could take a nice vacation or at least save for a nice vacation.  I don’t want to keep up with the Jones, I just want a little more and a little breathing room.  I’ve been thinking about how when my kids are in school I’ll go back to work and how it might get easier, but I also know this is the only chance I’ll get to raise my kids before they start school and I don’t want to miss it. 

I’m just tired of focusing on this and want to be able to get past it, but it seems it is everywhere.

Saved is the theme for this months blog postings at national blog posting month http://www.nablopomo.com/

About this entry