Being Content


I know Paul meant well when he was talking about being content with what he had and what his circumstances were.  I know he was trying to encourage and offer support to the new churches and believers.  I want to be content.  I’m not talking about the coveting contentness, where you want a yard like the neighbors, a house like your cousin, a spouse like your best friend and kids like your co-workers.  I mean the kind of content of where you are and what you are doing.

I know Paul was not chasing a terrible twos child around when he mentioned this verse.  Try as I might it is hard to be content some days.  My toddler is always fighting with my older child, or whining or getting into things and I can’t think let alone grab some time to pray.  I try to begin and end my day with the Bible and prayer but I miss having some time to pray and get closer to God during my day, when I need him most.  My youngest has always been a needy baby, demanding a lot more than my oldest.  A lot more attention and time and patience. 

I am so frustrated because I miss being able to really study the Word or the pray often, I miss quiet time, I miss being able to think and sit without having to hold a toddler all the time.  I know this is a precious time and we are making memories, I just wish I could get some more quiet praise time in the day.

About this entry