My monkey’s jumping on the sofa?


Flash back to my time before children.  My husband and I had moved back to the US.  We were settling in, we wanted to get some real furniture.  Permanent stay in one place for awhile furniture.  So our first major purchase was a bed and a sofa & loveseat.  For five years our sofa in Bermuda was a futon.  Not very comfy. 

So we went and got some nice seating.  Tan and treated with stain resist stuff, lots of stuffing and total sink into it comfort.  Loved them.  Never thought about kids or dogs, just thought after a long day at work, it’s nice to sink into these sofas.  Eventually I was pregnant and they became my comfort zone, a place to relax.

Flash forward to now.  The sofas are a major cause of feeling down for me.  They are dirty- who has tan sofas with kids?  They are tearing at the edges, the kids and the cats.  We only have one big living room and then a playroom downstairs, so these are the “good sofas” that visitors sit upon.  And now my children think they are trampolines.  They jump and jump and jump and dive and play with the pillows and spill things on them.  So frustrating, I mean in a jungle of toys why are the non toys the only thing they go for.  And I am stuck.  Stuck with them until the kids are older as per my husbands decree.  I keep asking what is older?  Elementary school? Tween?  I do hope by then I will have some nice black sofas- never a light color again for us.

Oh I have tried slipcovers, they got so worn from washing, that after my second set (and they are not cheap either) I gave up and went back to the sofa on it’s own.

This post was part of the moms 30 minute blog challenge featured each week at steadymom http://www.steadymom.com/moms-30minute-blog-challenge.html

About this entry