Afterthoughts the next morning


So I wrote about how I went to Target and bought a bunch of stuff we don’t need.  The rush was short lived as I woke up the next day and knew I ruined the budget, didn’t help my debt and now had even more stuff than I did the day before. 

So the next day the kids were at my grandmothers and I decided to come home and tackle the linen closet and tackle it I did.  I had a few bags to drop by the Salvation army and that felt good and I was happy I cleaned something, but still I kept thinking why did you go to Target?

I’ve decided I need to set a limit on small purchases.  I tend to go in and buy some few things and walk out spending between 100 and 200 dollars.  Or I buy tons of stuff and try to bulk up on things (left over from my days living abroad, when that’s what we needed to do on shopping trips), but how do these things figure into my daily living here in recession America?  How do they work into my debt and the giant snowball that it has become?  I don’t know.  I wish I was one of those people who were making changes years ago, I wish I wasn’t always late to understand.  I wish I could be as content as I was in Bermuda- lack of shops, lack of hours open on weekends, more socializing, less bored shopping.  Instead I am a mom, a mom who sometimes gets bored from being at home all day and I compensate by spending online or going to browse at Walmart or Target.  The misfortunes of the modern day mom.  Technology makes life easier and chores somewhat easier than in my grandmothers day, but that window of free time or desire for freedom has created some shopping by boredom patterns for some of us mamas.  

Now how do I try to change my mindset that I’ve had since I was a kid, where there is a need to buy things and gather things?  How do I simplify so my kids won’t be like that?  There’s the million dollar question.

About this entry