September social networking


So a big part of my life and the lives of many others these days is social networking.  Everyone it seems is on facebook, young and old.  It was not too long ago that I read an article about how facebook was used more bycollege educated people and myspace was used more by non-college people.  But these days all you hear is facebook, does anyone even use myspace any more?

This month I am going to explore how twitter and facebook (the two networking sites I use) have impacted my contentment both good and bad.

I can tell you I am on both of them 7 days a week.  The only time I was not on was while on vacation last summer and I managed to text my friend in Bermuda to look something up online for me, because I did not have internet access, this was while I was in the US.  So yes I am a bit addicted.  I spend morning online just to check in, nap time for me to surf about read blogs/emails/tweet and at night after the kids are in bed again to check in a wander about.

I have been known to play facebook games and to get hooked (colours in the sky is a bad one for me, I just can’t stop), but for the most part, I am reading, sending messages or tweeting.  I have never had a farm or a mafia group on facebook.

I want to say both have impacted me on how I communicate, how I get information, how I feel about myself  and how I compare myself to others.

This is why I wanted to spend September trying to see if I am more of less content, now that I am a social networking junkie.

About this entry