2nd grade


Ah the 80’s this project is bringing back the memories, as opposed to watching VH1 I love the 80’s. 

2nd grade was the year I fell in love with school.  I think I wanted to be a vet, but then my dad told me that vets have to give animals shots sometimes and I lost that dream, I hate needles.  So for most of my elementary years I wanted to be a teacher.  I would come home from school, go into the bathroom and line up my toys and cat and teach them”school”.  I would collect office supplies when we went somewhere- stamps, metal rings, staplers, index cards.  I even had a library where the toys could sign out books- this is why you need to have more than one child, I was always trying to entertain myself.  I remember feeling very lonely, I had cousins but none close by. 

I was always being picked by tags in clothes and I hated that so my mom would cut them out.  One time she bought me this really nice shirt with a lacey collar and a unicorn with a rhinestone for it’s eye.  Well this lace collar was just not doing it for me, so I snuck into the bathroom and cut the collar off.  Well my mother was not impressed, that I had ruined this very nice shirt she had just bought, I told her I could still wear it that it wasn’t picky anymore. 

One of my strongest memories at this age was my strawberry shortcake jacket.  One fall my mom bought me this awesome strawberry shortcake winter coat.  I was so happy with it.  I kept trying it on and off.  This was around Thanksgiving.  Now my parents were not example parents, they both had problems with drinking and not bothering with me all that much, so I spent a lot of time at my grandparents house, but they both had good hearts.  My dad knew of a family who had a young daughter and could not afford Thanksgiving dinner or much of anything.  So my parents bought these people a turkey and gave their little girl my new coat.  I wish I could say I was over-joyed at being able to help someone but at that age I was just mad and hurt.  It would be as the years went by that I realized how huge this was in my life,it set me up to always think of others and to give with a willing heart.  I never went to church as a child, but my dad taught me about Jesus and His love.  To this day I love secret santas and drives to collect things for others and I always remember the example my parents set for me.

This is part of a blog posting series on www.mommyspiggytales.com

About this entry