Resolution


I don’t do New Year’s resolutions.  I think back in high school and junior high I might have because I would hear adults mention them and like all teens I just wanted to be older.

As time went on I just didn’t bother.  Mainly because I would say oh I’ll go to the gym, eat better, write a novel, volunteer more, etc, etc and like everyone else by February I would have missed the goal and felt like I couldn’t keep a simple goal.  I didn’t want February the month of my anniversary and Valentine’s day to be a downer because of missed silly goals. So I just stopped.

There could be several reasons.  I am a planner and I am uber organized.  I just finished adding my calendars items for the year to my documents.  I was so excited you would have thought I was planning a trip to Disney.  So I plan for all stuff.  Things to do, cleaning, finances, places to visit, ways to help, Sunday School acitivities a year from now-everything.  But I don’t do goals really well.  If I wanted to say do a really big scrapbooking layout.  I would break it into smaller goals and note them in my to do list and work on it that way, kind of like a school project where you break it into more chewable items.  But I don’t do vague goals like exercise more, save more money, lose weight.  I need to have an action plan.

Another reason I don’t do resolutions is because I don’t like the idea of being locked into something just because it’s the time of year when people do that.  I don’t want to be fighting my way to the gym because it’s Jan 15th.  I don’t want to skip some yummy chocolate covered strawberries on Valentine’s Day because I am eating better.

Finally I don’t want regret.  I don’t ever think wow I wish I could go back and fix that, or I wish I could really fix that facet of my life.  I think resolutions seem like regret.  I try to live for the moment (even though I am a crazy planner).  I try to take advantage of whatever comes my way and I feel pigeonholed into something if I have a resolution.

It’s seems like the strangest thing I know.  I would rather focus on and explore things I want to change than make a declaration of my intent.

What are your thoughts on resolutions?

About this entry