101 things, the list begins with boats


This year I thought I would let the blogging world know more about me.  So I’ve decided to do a 101 things, series.

#1 I have para-sailed.  I did it a few times.  My best friend was married to a para-sail captain.  I did it tandem and alone.  It was fun, not too scary but not something I would have ever done on my own.

#2 I’ve sailed.  My husband and I used to have a sailboat and we used to sail every weekend.  I learned things about jibbing (I don’t even know if I spelled that right), port, starboard- all the boat stuff.  I must admit I would love to sail on one of those boats with automatic sails.  Ours had the kind we had to hoist ourselves.  But it was always nice to go out on days when bad weather was due to come, because when the water was a little rough it was nice to feel the sea mist and to be going fast. I miss our days on the boat, I should have appreciated it more when I could.  Now we live hundreds of miles from any ocean.

#3 I went white water rafting in NY state.  I was scared.  I really was. They gave the customary warnings on the bus before we got there and I just cried. I was so scared.  I didn’t want to do it.  But I went along. I sat in the middle and I never touched a paddle.  I didn’t jump out for the recreational swim where it was calm and I really would never do it again.  My husband and friends loved it and I was very happy for them.  The views were gorgeous some of the most beautiful I have ever seen, but extreme water sports are not for me.

 

 

 

 

About this entry