Pay with card


I used to be a super efficient budgeter/spender.  I would use cash everywhere.  I never had a debit card and one credit card.  Then I moved abroad, my apartment got broken into a few times and my location was more adaptable for using your debit card.  I never looked back.  Now it’s what I use all the time.  I can easily go into the grocery store and go over the budget because I don’t need the cash and if I don’t see it, it doesn’t really register.  Do you ever feel that way?

It’s almost like imaginary money.  It comes in the bank and you can move it, pay bills online with it and use the debit card, but you never touch it.  How odd is that?  I remember saving actual cash and being so excited.

A few weeks ago for some reason I had $40 cash.  I was so determined not to spend the cash.  I wanted to save it, $40 seemed like a lot of cash to have on hand.  I eventually realized I needed to spend it, but I wanted to make it last, so I plotted and stretched it and felt so good about myself, but then it was gone and I was back to the debit card.  I will use the debit card for $40 in a heartbeat and not think twice.

I think this is why I overspend so easily.  I think this is something that the banks and stores rely on, I mean they do studies on things like this.  So what to do?  Resort back to cash and try to stay within my means?  I just don’t know.  I love the convenience of the card, but I don’t love the overspending.  So I need to figure something out.  This is one of my major identifiers for my debt diet and I need to figure out the best way to go from here.

About this entry