Ugh I hate these bills


First let me say we are very blessed, with have health benefits, lots of great local doctors and hospitals and we are all relatively healthy.  Now let me rant.  As soon as the new “Obama” care bill was getting ready to be passed our health insurance made preparations to make sure they were ready, by changing our coverage amounts.  Our family now needs to pay over a thousand dollars out of pocket before they start covering. This is maddening.  I am one of those people who goes for the basics.  Yearly well visits for the kids, checkups for me and my husband and that’s the extent.  If we get colds I go to the drug store or drinking lots of liquids with honey.  I mean with kids yes you might be going more often, but I am getting to the point now where I don’t want to be scheduling my husband and I for our annual exams.  Because with exams come blood tests and with blood tests come big bucks that we have to pay out.  I mean on one hand if you are good about going to the doctor, your health might be better because you can get things taken care of before they may become an issue, but if on the other hand you start stretching out appointments or delaying so you don’t have these huge bills, you are hurting yourself.  So what are you to do?  Should we be punished because we have health insurance by having to pay tons of money out of pocket?  Should we have to cut back on extra money or groceries to cover the difference of this money out of pocket?  It’s messed up.  There’s got to be a better way.

About this entry