Temple


Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. Corinthians 1:6;19-20

Honor God with your body.  This means healthy eating and exercising and being happy with what God gave you and taking care of it, all things which I am guilty of neglecting. I was never raised in a family with negative body image.  No one ever said anyone was fat, or had bad hair.  People were lifted up not brought down.  I am thankful for that and I watch carefully what I say around my kids because I don’t want them to think negatively about themselves.  But I sometimes wish I would be more conscious about being in shape or worrying about my body.  I know God loves me and that doing good to others can be done whether you are heavy or not.  But I also feel guilty for letting it get to this.  One look at my temple and you’ll think that there is nothing happy going on here.  I keep thinking of the John Mayer song your body is a wonderland.  Is this where the change happens?  Is this where faith comes in?  Can I manage to make this change?  I hope so.

About this entry