Books How I love thee


So this year I am going to read 52 books in 52 weeks.  I told my husband and he laughed, he said the only difference from this year and any other is that you are going to track them….

1/2 Mennonite in a Little Black Dress.  This was funny. Lots of Mennonites where I am from so I thought this book had a very catchy title.

1/2 Total Money Makeover, good ideas if you are stuck and don’t know where to begin, not so great for me, because I need willpower and self control more than anything.  I already have all the budgets and plans.  Helped to throw the negativity of debt into my face a bit more and how the desire is to get rid of it.

1/3 The Lost Hours. Wow, amazing, loved it, couldn’t put it down (literally I read this in one day) It had family secrets, the south, friendships, horses, intrigue, suspense.  It was sad, but not so sad, which I love a book with feeling.  Not everything in life is cut and dry & books shouldn’t be either. After reading this one I added a few more Karen White books to my wish lists.

1/9 Best Friends Forever, Jennifer Weiner.  Wow, I seriously lose hours in my sleep from Jennifer Weiner’s books.  I started it last night at 11pm and read until about 2am and then finished this afternoon.  I could not put it down.  Such a good book, such a dramatic story line for the main characters.  There is one part when the friends are going to sleep and mentioning how much they’ve always needed each other and it made me smile, because I know that, I have that with my best friends.  Amazing.  I feel like she writes books just for me, her stuff is so easy to read and get into and just lost all track of time.

1/17 Water for your soul.  This was a great book about baptism & remembering our own baptism.  I read this as a resource for one of the ministry’s I’m involved in with church.

1/26 Get Me Out by Randi Hutter Epstein.  This was a book about the history of childbirth.  As a mother I found it extremely interesting because you always wonder about how things were back before modern medicine.  As a lover or history I enjoyed the historical information she shares.  I thought it was a bit long about Lamaze and natural birth & the evolution on IVF, but then again those are not things that interest me.  All in all it was a great book.

2/11 The Summer We Read Gatsby.  I’ll admit, at first I almost put this book down and stopped.  One of the main characters had a vocabulary that was not common and hard to follow, but then I got into it. There was a mystery, there was romance, it was the Hamptons, and so many Great Gatsby references that I was over the top. I loved this book, I stayed up late last night to finished it and I am going to read her other book now.

2/19 Made from Scratch. This book was a little more than I thought it would be.  It was interesting and had some great ideas, but I won’t be raising my own chickens any time soon.  I like the author’s writing style and the fact that she went to college and was familiar with the area in which I am from. I love her ideas to buy old stuff and keep using it.  Plus there were tons of resources in the back for someone who is ready for their own homemade lifestyle, I’ll stick to the farmers market for now.

2/23 Eat that Frog.  This book has some great ideas and tips. There was not much for me to take from it as I am a planner already, but I mainly got it for my husband to read and he didn’t as usual.

2/28 The Amish Way. This was the 2nd book I read by these authors and it gave some great insight into the Amish and the way they live and lots of good details onto their religious practices and beliefs.  It was a little long to read, but the end of the book had some great info in the appendixes.

3/1 Well Behaved Women Seldom Make History. I love history and I am a women so I thought this would be great.  I also love books, but I think after years of the history channel and history articles in magazines, I am losing my touch with reading semi-long books on history.  This was a great book with amazing content, but it was too long for me.  I lost interest.

3/2 Sh*t my Dad Says.  I loved this book.  It was so funny.  There is a genuine family relationship here even though his dad might not be what you would typically expect.  I was laughing so much.  In an odd way his dad reminded me of some of my family members.  Great great book.

3/7 The Walk by Richard Paul Evans.  I read this book in 2 hours.  I couldn’t put it down. It has one of those makes you think messages.  It makes you think about the time we have and what we do with it.  My friends mom gave it to me and told me she couldn’t put it down.  I loved it and highly reccomend it.

3/8 What Happens When Women Say Yes to God.  I love Lysa TerKeurst.  I love her writing style.  This is one of her older books and while it was good I think it would have been better as a small group book, not for me to read on my own. I was so excited to read it and then I was kind of upset that I wasn’t getting more from it.  I am so looking forward to Made to Crave and I loved Becoming more than a good Bible study girl.

About this entry