Books for the year cont.


3/26 A Perfect Mess.  I loved Lisa Harper’s personal stories that started each chapter, I did not care for the diving into the Psalms though.  It found it long and hard to read and I worked on reading this book for several months, just to get through it.  It was not what I was expecting.

3/29 The Millionaire Next Door- I think I read this book before.  While it was interesting, it just made me realize how bad I am with money. It talked about physicians a lot and to me there are more professionals in the world with the capability to be millionaires than just doctors.  Overall, it had some good information, but was a little long for me.

3/29 Haunted Pennsylvania- A typical “haunted” book, not much new or different from all the others.  Not much on the eastern side of the state.

3/30 168 You Have More Time Than You Think.  I was excited to read this book.  I am all about using your time for the most, but I am also guilty of being a procrastinator. This book had some good info and good ideas, but it read like a research book.  I enjoyed the personal stories and examples and was expecting the book to be less like a law text and more down to Earth.

3/31 The Broke Diaries.  I heard about this book years ago on Oprah.  I just got around to reading it.  Angela cracked me up.  She was so real and I felt bad for her, but it was entertaining.  It made me realize things in perspective, this girl had weeks with a few bucks and nothing to eat, while trying to get through college.  I read this is one night, because it did make me laugh and the people she dated- don’t get me started 🙂

4/2 The Doctor and the Diva. Wow, this book was the longest I read in awhile & I am exhausted today since I stayed up way too late finishing it because I could not put it down.  This was an amazing book.  It had interesting medical history, lifestyle history and a great plot.  It was also hard to read from a mothers point of view.  I loved it and was disappointed that the author doesn’t have any other books out right now.

4/4 Ghost Night Heather Graham.  My friend has lent me this book and the 2nd one. I liked the second one better.  This one had so many characters and they all got introduced at once and it got confusing, but maybe that’s also so you have no idea who the bad one is.  It is a creepy series and I read it at night and had some chills.

4/7 Fortune’s Rocks.  I picked this book up at work in our work “library”.  It was sitting by my bed for months because it seemed so long and I was worried about reading long books in my 52 books in one year challenge. But none the less, I started it the other night and I was intrigued.  I loved it.  I love books set in the early part of the last century.  It was so detailed and I couldn’t figure out what was going to happen, it kept me guessing.  At the end I loved it, it had a wonderful ending and that’s all you can ask for in a longer book.  I must say I am suffering on lack of sleep, during this challenge, because once I get hooked on a book, I get hooked and just keep reading and reading.

4/14 The Help.  Wow, I read this in 2 nights-could not put it down. Initially when this book came out I had no interest.  I thought the subject matter was touchy and was not too keen, but for some reason I went back to it and I loved it.  It was so well written. One of the most detailed well written books I’ve read in awhile.  This book is the kind of book that makes you want to devour everything the author wrote! I was moved by how ironic is was that the maids were raising this white children like their own and then growing up and having to serve as the same kids maids.  It was sad, it made me think.  I can not imagine growing up in Mississippi back then. I can not imagine being raised to think someone is less than you are and I can not imagine segregation.  My family has lived in the North for ever, so this is quite foreign to me.  What a terrific book.

4/26 Peace and Plenty by Sarah Ban Breathnach. This book got me excited, I was so excited to read something from Sarah as she sometimes feels like a kindred spirit.  But this was not Simple Abundance or Romancing the Ordinary.  I also thought this book might be helpful financially, but it was kind of her rambling about her money history, her being rich than not rich and her talking about divorce which is what I couldn’t stand about moving on.  I think she was amazing in her first books, but that can’t be repeated.  This book did have some good quotes, but otherwise, I was not too impressed and a little let down.

5/4 Living Life on Purpose This book was good.  I love Lysa TerKeurst’s books.  This was an earlier book.  She writes so well, it just flows and her real life stories are great and it’s easy to read.  She has many great views and thoughts and presents them in a good way.  This book was a good overview of the Proverbs 31 woman

5/6 Miles to Go.  I read this book in one night because his books read fast and because my grandfather just died- I was looking for insight.  This was the 2nd book in The Walk series.  I loved the walk, that was such a good book.  This book was not as good. I thought he spent too much time on Angel, like he was filling not writing.  At the end there is a little mystery which means you’ll want to read the next one when it comes out. I’ll read the next one.

5/12 Minding Frankie.  I loved this book, but I have never read a Maeve Binchy that I did not love.  This book was so good, I got sucked in with the story of Moira.  A character I still don’t like.  It had a great story and she wove in all her familiar characters, so it feels like coming home to an old friend when you read her books.  It even touched on someone passing and the thoughts and feelings surrounding that, which is something I am experiencing at this time in my life.  All round amazing book.  I love books set in Ireland.

5/24 Suddenly Frugal.  I need to stop getting excited for books about saving money.  There’s nothing new that has not been written or blogged about.  This book was ok, lots of tips for around the house, but nothing mind blowing for me. The only thing I really found was something on crockpot365, which seems interesting and I am going to look into that site

6/8 Outlive your life by Max Lucado. I love his books, this book was amazing.  It was inspiring and a great read, not too long and not too wordy on Scripture that you can’t follow.  This is from the book ” None of us can help everyone. But all of us can help someone. And when we help them, we serve Jesus.” pg 172, that pretty much sums it up and shows you how great this book is.

6/10 Flappers and the New American Woman- this book had some great historical pictures and magazine ads.  The content was interesting but was written as a learning tool for middle school or high school students, I think.  I thought it was going to be more like a diary of a flapper or some book like that, but it was interesting and mentioned some great women in history.

About this entry