End of the 52 books


#47 The Lost Hours by Kate Morton.  Loved this book.  I was a little apprehensive because it is a very long book but it was a page turner.  Could not put it down.  Her writing is detailed and she is very gifted.  There was so much mystery and intrigue in this book.  9/17/11

#48 Postmistress by Sarah Blake.  It was kind of intriguing, but it left many questions in my mind and I didn’t like the ending.  It was hard to get into also.  But the storyline was good. 10/10/11

#49 The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen.  This book was really good.  Intruiging.  I loved the story and it had some interesting characters.Based down South and I love Southern books.It’s a book about friendship and I finished reading it on my best friends birthday which was so cool.  It made me realize how important true girlfriends are in your life.  10/22/11

#50 Sybil.  I only read this book because I recently read a review of another book exposing this book for what it really is.  So as I read it, I was taking it all with a grain of salt.  I’m sure it was scandalous and shocking when it came out, parts of it were shocking to me, but without knowing what was true and was what not, it was hard to really get into this book. 11/3/11

#51 The stories behind the great traditions of christmas by ace collins.  I really am all over the place in my reading.  I search online and magazines, browse the library, look for reccomendations from friends, have a group of fav authors, so my reading lists are always varied.  This book caught my eye because it had just snowed and I love history and I sometimes wonder where we get these customs we have.  The was a cool story about the 12 days of Christmas being a song for Catholics to remember their catechism, quirky things like that draw me to books like this.  11/2/11

#52 The Purpose of Christmas by Rick Warren.  This book was really good to get me in the mood of Christmas and to really think about Christmas.  I love the way Rick Warren writes.  11/12/11

So I am finished and a few weeks early at that.  I still have a giant pile of books next to my bed to “read” next and a list of 100 books at the library and about 150 on amazon.  It is truly one of my passions in life.

I was recently enlightened with a comment about perfectionism and also about serious readers/book lovers who happen to be perfectionists.  The statement said you do not need to finish a book if you don’t like it or can’t get into it.  This is a huge time waster and does not prove anything.  I had never really thought of it.  There have been some books on this list, that I fought my way through.  I think in recent years of all the books I read there have only been two books that I just stopped reading because I just could not get through them, but many more I wish I would have just stopped and went on to an enjoyable book, instead of feeling like I was missing something or not accomplishing something if I gave up.  Just some food for thought.

I am so excited to have finished this goal.  I’m not a big goal person and with two kids it’s hard to find free time to read like I would like to.  I used to read all day long when I was younger.  I am so happy, that I was able to do this and to really be motivated to do so and to finish with a few weeks to spare.  I mainly read late at night when the kids are in bed and the hubs is sleeping, so I did have a few sleep-ness nights with some of these page turners that I just couldn’t put down.  Now I’m toying with 104 books in 52 weeks, that may have to wait until my children are all in school full days!!

About this entry