Longevity


I am thankful this year that I was able to know and love my grandparents for as long as I did and that both of my kids knew them.  I had many years with them and for that I am very happy and thankful.  I do get sad from time to time because I miss them, so but we had a good long time of being together in this world. I worry because my youngest is already having a hard time remembering and she used to love them so much.  She used to ask to call them or go to their house and now when  I talk about my grandmother she thinks I mean my mom.  I have put more pictures of them around the house and also one in each of my kids room where my grandmother is holding them as a baby.  I miss them so much because sometimes I just want to talk to my nan. My husband is grumpy and never really talks, so sometimes I am just so lonely and would love to have a phone call from her.  I haven’t dreamt of them yet and I really thought I would.  I am thankful for all the times we had together with family dinners and parties.

I am also thankful for my kids.  They really make me smile and laugh.  I am thankful my oldest is doing really well in school.  I am thankful for meeting my new nephew this summer and for taking my kids to Bermuda, so they could see where home was and what it is like.  I am thankful I didn’t have to wear a coat today.  I am thankful for the cranberry champagne cocktails at dinner and for a nice dinner with good friends who are like family.  I am thankful for my pets and super thankful that I woke up this morning and my dog and one cat greeted me hello.  I am thankful to have my own little computer where I can sit nicely and type.  I am thankful to have read so many wonderful books this year and for all the time I get to spend at the school library each week volunteering.  I am thankful for volunteering in a kindergarten class- those kids make me laugh and I am so thankful for my church and my Sunday School class and the great plans and ideas we implement in Christian Ed.  I am thankful for my Lord and for the strength He has given me this year.  I am thankful that there is food on the table, clothes on our backs, a roof over our heads and cars to get us from A to B.

I am very blessed and very thankful.  What are you thankful for today and this year?

About this entry