My Word-restore


re·store

[ri-stawr, -stohr]

verb (used with object), -stored, -stor·ing.

1.

to bring back into existence, use, or the like; reestablish: torestore order.
2.

to bring back to a former, original, or normal condition, as abuilding, statue, or painting.
3.

to bring back to a state of health, soundness, or vigor.
4.

to put back to a former place, or to a former position, rank,etc.: to restore the king to his throne.
5.

to give back; make return or restitution of (anything takenaway or lost).
You know when something is so obvious it practically jumps in your face?  Then you have to make the decision to go for it.  Well my in your face item is a focus word for the year.  I first came across the idea( I admit I have never heard of this) in Guideposts this month in an article by Debbie Macomber.  Then I saw a blog post by Ali Edwards on the topic and I read one other blog and I was like ok, I need to do this.  I thought about and focusing in quiet on some words.  Then I made a list and when I looked over the list I had written restore twice, so I decided there it was, my word for the year.
I’ve felt out of sync for the past few months.  My eating habits are not good, my exercise is non-existant, I worry too much and I volunteered for lots and lots of committees last year, the kids are in lots of activities and I feel like my plate is full and I wonder where I am in all this mix.  I wonder where I am and who I am.  I feel like I need some time for me and some time to restore myself.  To figure out who I am and go there, to be that person.  To take time for me and to restore myself.  So join me on this journey this year.  Do you have a word?
About this entry