wake me up-please


I am sleepy. I’ve always been one of those people who loves sleep. Sleeping and reading are the things I do when I have free time or when I am on vacation. I come from a long line of sleepers, my dad sleeps more than anyone I know, most of my childhood when I still lived with him he was asleep.  My aunt sleeps like crazy too.  My family was the sleep in kind of family, except my mom- her family were farmers so they are get up before dawn people and my mom still does, totally not for me.  Lately I’ve been sleepier than ever.  I was worried that I am sick or narcaleptic. I have not been this tired since I was preggers.  I mean I wake up get the kids ready for school, maybe clean a bit and fall asleep for maybe an hour. Same thing in the afternoon, I do some errands, get some food and clean or read and I’m out like a light. I have been bugging out. I’m not over-energetic, but I am not that lazy. I thought maybe it was because I’ve had a sinus thing for weeks and on antibiotics. But then my friend shed some light for me, it’s my anxiety meds.  Like so many people in todays world in the US, I have anxiety, like severe can not be turned off anxiety and I tend to get depressed. I’ve been this way since I was in high school and have been on and off meds for about 8 or 9 years.  I’m kind of embarrassed to admit that, but mental health is just like any of disease, it’s inherited most times and it can be treated with meds.  You take meds for cholesterol and no one would tell you not too, so why not for anxiety. Left untreated it can effect your blood pressure, cause ulcers and many other illnesses.  So I take meds. The doctor upped them a few months ago and then came the crazy sleepiness which my friend said comes from my med of choice- zoloft. Don’t get me wrong, I like everything else about it, it doesn’t bother me or anything else, it just makes me dog tired.  So now I feel a little bit free-er since I put it out there. I am by no means perfect and I am a control freak and I try to do it all myself and fix things myself and I spend a good deal of my day in my house with my kids who don’t always get along. My husband has a high stress job and we’ve had some serious loses in my family in the last year. So my meds help. Even that, why do I feel the need to justify taking them? Millions of people do, but it’s such a stigma. So any suggestions for staying awake? I’ve been on them for about 4 years now and don’t really want to switch. Anyone else feel stigmatized or embarrassed?

About this entry