10 books that changed my world


1. The Great Gatsby. This is my favorite book of all time. It was my senior project in high school and parts of it pop into my head still almost daily. It changed me and made me see life in a new light.

2. The Shack. I had never heard of this book and my best friend gave it to me for my birthday. I started reading it and was put off, but then I got hooked and could not put it down and I think about it often and did a Bible study on it also.

3. The Glass Lake, this book got me hooked on Irish books and I read it my first Christmas in Bermuda. I love all her books. 

4.Night. In high school I had read the whole list of books and did reports in 11th grade in the first semester. After that my teacher put me on my own program of study and this was one of the books he chose. I was disturbed after a few pages and went to school and said I don’t want to read this. My teacher said we read this so we learn and we remember to never let humanity do this again. So I read it for the memories of all those lives lost and all those families and it moved me.I saw a raw side of people and the drive to keep going in the worst of circumstances and I am so happy I saw it through.

5.Catcher in the Rye. Man I wanted to be Holden Caulfield. I wanted that freedom and that ability to explore and be me. It was an amazing book, that I read in high school and I loved it.

6.Bridget Jone’s Diary. I have no idea how I found this book, but I picked it up and saw her calories count, cig count and drink count and I was hooked. I felt like I was her at some points in my life and I just loved how real this book was and so unique.

7.The Intellectual Devotional. There’s a few of these and I bought them for my husband. He’s not a reader,so I figured in short bits he’d enjoy. He didn’t and I’m not one to leave a good book lie around, so I started to read them and several years later, I’ve learned concise bits of loads of info.

8.Year of Wonders. This book was amazing. I got swept in and for a few days I was back in the time of the Plague and feeling emotions of how the main characters felt. Life was hard and it was so well written and detailed.

9.Simple Abundance. I first saw this book in my grandmothers room and thought oh that’s an old lady book. Later I would buy a copy for myself and I loved it. Romantic, thoughtful and I’ve read it over and over and bought all her other books too.

10. Prozac Nation.I picked up this book in a strange period in my life. My generation has grown up on meds and for a small amount of time I was on Prozac. I have struggled with depression most of my life and I finally felt ok, because of her journey. I didn’t feel like an outsider. I still love this book and some of it changed my life. 

 

About this entry