First Sentence Daily Post Challenge


In my younger and more venerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.
(The Great Gatsby)

I wish my father had given me some advice, but no not my father. I’ve written before how much these first two sentences of The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald mean to me, this is the second sentence “Whenever you feel like criticizing anyone,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.”
Wow, how much of an impact and how they relates to the rest of the book. But this post is about fatherly advice. My dad was a mess growing up, he’s much better since I’m an adult, but he asks for my advice. I’m thinking about my kids. I sometimes overhear my husband giving my kids such good advice, it’s cute and I wonder will it stick with them? Will they one day say dad I remember when you told me…. and it helped me….? Will they say something like my dad always used to tell me?
Today my husband was explaining to my son how he should be happy to be taking on his goal of three months perfect attendance in Sunday School, not for the prize, but for how it will make him feel to achieve a goal and accomplish something. It was cool. You don’t think of your spouse as a parent until you actually see them parent in action.

What makes something stick? Does it have to be profound? I have things in my mind that I remember being told, but they aren’t all deep or Earth moving. I didn’t have a really quirky knowledge passing grandparent, who worked things into sayings like you sometimes read about or see portrayed on tv,sometimes I wish I did, that would be cool.
I can just hope that not only do our kids remember things we tell them but that they also remember the way we lived and how we treated others when they are older and wiser and passing on their knowledge.

About this entry