New Year New Ways


To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all. Oscar Wilde

This is a great quote to start the year out with. How many of us are just existing? How many of us aren’t living, really living.
I’m a mom to young kids so most of my days involve, cleaning, organizing, picking up, feeding, and doing it all over again for at least 10-12 hours a day. I love being a mom, but it is draining to do the same thing day in and day out. I enjoy taking care of my family but I also like being able to read and write and relax and have some down time. Most times my down time has been coming in the middle of the night, I’ve been up until 2am or later reading, because it’s nice and it feels nice to be able to have quiet and to remember myself.
It’s not just having kids that reminds me of getting trapped in the mundane. When I worked full time, I kind of fell into a pattern, up to work, work all day,come home and work at night, watch tv, snack, go to bed, and spend weekends catching up on cleaning. Over and over. And after awhile patterns become habit and they become comfortable and they become safe. It’s easier to work all year than to take a vacation and come back to a mess or so much work it will take weeks to catch up. It’s easier to stay at home in my pjs with the kids and just falling into this easy routine as opposed to getting out and getting moving.
This year I want to live, not mountain climbing, or marathon running, or traveling Europe. More like taking a walk and looking at the world, relaxing and enjoying a breath, tasting dinner, not just gobbling it down. Tonight I saw a beautiful full sun setting. It was full orangish red and just huge hanging low in the sky. I was driving my son to snowboarding lessons and said look behind us, look at the son. He said wow it’s almost as pretty as a sunset from Africa on safari or something, and I said yeah.Then I stopped and said no, it’s a sunset from right here, right in our neighborhood, we didn’t have to go to Africa, we have a beautiful sun without leaving home. Amazing. Things like that. That’s what I want this year.
This week I want to watch the sky, look for all the beauty we are given each day and to enjoy it, day and night skies.

I want to point it out to my kids so they can always appreciate all nature shows us. So they can remember in this fast life of lessons to lessons to lessons and driving all around, that we need to stop and look sometimes.

This week I am also slowing catching up on my cleaning that I was letting kind of slide over the holidays, not rush in and not overdo it, just kind of ease back into it.

About this entry