what is wrong with the mall


Today I went to the mall. I needed to go to this store Justice, for a gift for someone. I was shocked. This is a store for tweens, that has “bikini underwear” and short shorts. They had some seriously questionable clothes. Tight jeans and half shirts. I walked in and some salesgirl asked me what I was looking for and if I needed help, I was in shock I don’t think I responded. I stood by the collection of inappropriate underwear complaining to my husband while some mom bought her maybe 9 year these underwear. When I was paying the girl asked me if I wanted to be part of their loyalty discount program to save money the next time I was there, I just looked at her and said I don’t think there will be a next time for me to be there.
I was not surprised to see that it was the most crowded store in the mall. That makes me feel bad as a women and as a mom. I do not think little girls should be pushed to be growing up and wanting those kinds of clothes, I don’t think they should be wearing those clothes. I have never been a sexy clothes person. I think once when I was maybe 18 I had a bikini and never again. I believe in modesty. But I also believe in my little girl playing dolls and enjoying being a little girl for as long as possible. Why do we have such a strong pull to make kids grow up so fast in this country? Why can’t we enjoy and put an emphasis on childhood and imagination and playing and just being a little kid.
I am guilty of signing my kids up for lots of sports and story and crafts at the library, which is something I was never into when I was a kid. But I remember playing and enjoying decorating dollhouses and dressing dolls up until I was in 7th grade. Then I think I did want to grow up too fast, and I don’t want my kids to long to be older. I think we should all enjoy the age where we are. I think we should savor the time and stage and I hope I can convince my kids of the same.

About this entry