leave yesterday


Finish every day and be done with it.
You have done what you could.
Some blunders and absurdities
no doubt have crept in;
forget them as soon as you can.
Tomorrow is a new day;
begin it well and serenely
and with too high a spirit
to be cumbered with
your old nonsense.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

So last week I was thinking about Lent and what I was going to give up. I made a list of things that I don’t like about me and that needing improving. I sat and looked at the list for similarities, because I knew I could not focus on my Lenten journey, but focusing on a whole mess of issues. The overlying issue was me dragging things on day after day after day. And beating myself up for forgetting stuff (I have an incredible long term memory, but I don’t have a very good short term memory, which may or may not be related to me being a control freak-but that’s another blog post). I get incredibly frustrated when I forget things. And I spend way too much time trying to remember or it puts me in a bad mood. So I decided that I am going to leave yesterday in yesterday. For Lent I am going to focus on doing just that. I am weak and I need guidance and I need to let go and stop worrying and stewing over things and leave yesterday in yesterday does just that for me. Most mornings I wake up and go over yesterdays issues or mistakes or things I needed to do/didn’t do, ways I treated people, stuff like that and since last Thursday morning, I’ve been waking up and getting ready to re-hash and I stop and think leave yesterday in yesterday and it helps. It seems silly but it helps. It helps me to let go and to focus. It helps me to remember we are given each new day as a gift, nothing is gauranteed in life and I need to embrace each new day and do a new thing. Not get wrapped up in yesterday’s problems or issues. Kind of like a kid, there is rarely a day when my kids are still worried about yesterday, they live in the now.

They say it takes 21 days for something to become habit, so I am hoping over the next 40 days I can become a more carefree person and be less uptight and be able to just let go and not try to control it all so very much.

About this entry