next chapter


When I was growing up, I never planned on having kids. I was an only child. Then life changed and I’m now a mama to two. At one point when I was pregnant with number two I could see us with a number three, but then I got pre-eclampsia and HELLP and was very sick and delivered early and was advised that number three might not be a good choice for us.
So plans changed, but in my mind sometimes I would see a newborn and wonder what if. I was on blood pressure meds for about a year after number two was born. But I lost weight and got off the meds. I should have stopped then and stayed like that, but a few years passed and I am back on meds. They warn you that historically women with pre-eclampsia tend to get high blood pressure within five years of delivering. But I haven’t taken very good care of myself and this is where I am.
But that’s ok. We have turned the next page of parenting and our family is complete. Two kids and I couldn’t be happier, I feel like this is where we are meant to be. We’ve made some personal commitments to ensure this and there goes us into the next stage. Babies will have to be enjoyed from other people and truthfully I was never good at that baby phase. My kids are at an age where they are into sports and school activities and we can have conversations and it’s neat. It’s a new place and a new stage and if I’ve learned anything it’s that they don’t stay one age for very long, so we’ve got an exciting road up ahead and I can’t wait.

About this entry