roaring twenties on an island


I spent the better part of my twenties living in Bermuda. It seems like a dream sometimes. I was out of college and working my first professional job and getting paid well and living in paradise across the street from a pink beach and a turquoise sea. It was the best time imaginable.
I was alone, well except for my husband. I had to make new friends in a place where I personally did not have any connections. So I had to step out of my comfort zone and meet people and talk to people and it was amazing. Most of my co-workers and friends were 5-10 years older than me. I learned so much from them about life and work and creating a family of people to be with when your own family is 700 miles away.
My friends were so hospitable, having BBQs and boat trips and just always inviting us to something. I learned how to be myself and to meet people from other countries and cultures. I learned about other places in the world and I learned about how to give and help others in a community.
I spent so many nights talking to and hanging out with great people, sometimes I didn’t want the nights to end and sometimes they did not end until the next morning. Coming from an extremely homogeneous place and moving to an island where somehow people from all over the world end up was the time of my life as a carefree twenty something. My experience there has made me who I am today and brings me so many memories and some amazing friendships and I would not change that for the world.

About this entry