Blogtember Sept 3rd


Describe where or what you come from. The people, the places, and/or the factors that make up who you are:
Where I am from. Wow. Where I’m from people still speak Pa Dutch. Friday nights during school means football games and when I was younger movies in the town one screen theater. 200 year old churches with big tall steeples. Hardworking, frugal people. In the country but less than an hour from a major US city. I decided at the age of ten that I loved England, so from then on out, I’ve come from feeling like an anglophile. Something so different than from where I’m from. I’m also from good friends, and close families. Generations who don’t leave, but choose to stay here. Grandparents being so close it’s hard to go on without them. Potato heavy and very fried Dutch food. Everyone knows you and sometimes that nice and sometimes you long for anonymity.

About this entry