Blogtember Sept 5


Pass on some useful advice or information you learned and always remembered.

I have loved The Great Gatsby since I first read it in high school. I went on to make it my senior research paper in high school and my senior thesis in college. One of the sentences from that book that has stuck with me is from Nick Carraway in chapter one, “Whenever you feel like criticizing any one, just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.” This was Nick’s fathers’ advise to him. I have never stopped thinking about this in my life. I’m not from a family with wealth, actually my early years were very dismal and not many people know that, but I’ve had so many opportunities and experiences in my life, that I feel so blessed. But there are times when I come across rude people, or angry people, or hurt people and like most people I’m quick to judge but these words from The Great Gatsby ring in my head. I don’t know what their life is like, and I don’t know whether they had some of the influences and directions I had in my life, so I can’t pass judgement. I don’t know what their day has been like, or what is happening in their personal life. Life is not easy. I’ve shared this advice with my kids in regards to kids who might be mean or when their friends might be having a bad day. I try to share this advice with my husband and my friends. We never know what it’s like to be in someone else’s shoes and we can never take that for granted. I feel very blessed since my rough start, but I try not to ever take that for granted. Most people in my circumstances would not have pushed themselves this much to make life work, and I’m thankful I did.

About this entry