10 best things about being a Sunday School teacher


I’ve been a Sunday School teacher for about five years now. I love every second of it, except maybe getting out of bed early every Sunday morning. I teach 1st & 2nd grade. Here are my top 10 things I love about Sunday School:

1. Kids are curious by nature, so they don’t need to know all the answers, they accept theology as it is
2. There is nothing cuter than having kids list 100 God sightings
3. Bible songs are cute and they stick with you, I never thought I’d remember all the books of the Bible
4. Being part of a child’s first knowledge of Jesus
5. Making cards for shut-ins
6. Teaching and sharing with kids about how to love one another
7. The prayers they ask for an offer up (sick grandma, sick pet, dead hamster)
8. Reformation Sunday (we’re Lutheran) and the various answers I get when I ask who Marin Luther is
9. Crafts- there are so many fun Bible crafts
10. Feeling tired and blah and having ten-fifteen smiling friendly kids cheer me right up on a Sunday morning and knowing there is no where else in the world I’d rather be.

About this entry